skip navigation

2015-2016 League Update

By DSTHL, 05/01/15, 12:00AM CDT


"Right Sizing" improves competition and stabilizes the league...

The DSTHL Board, including all member associations, met in April to review progress to date related to "right sizing" the hockey pyramid while improving competition and stabilizing the league. With mergers occurring to create two new organizations, the McKinney North Stars (McKinney Ice Hockey Club + Texas Aces) and the Texas Warriors (Allen Americans + Dallas Oilers) The following changes have been made for the upcoming 2015-2016 DSTHL season:

  • Five clubs in the DFW market (Dallas Penguins, Hockey Club Dallas, McKinney North Stars, Texas Jr. Brahmas and Texas Warriors) will participate in the DSTHL.​​
  • All DFW clubs will field nine (9) total teams (2 squirt, 2 peewee, 2 bantam, 2 midget minor and 1 midget major). 
  • All DFW clubs will have the opportunity to level one (1) AA team at each age group (squirt, peewee, bantam, midget minor and midget major). 
  • Houston programs will remain the same as prior seasons with the Houston Wild with AA status at all age groups.
  • Houston Wild and OKC Oil Kings will have the opportunity to level in to AA where they have a team that can compete at that level.

Given the amount of change experienced over the last four years we are confident that this is the last major change that will be required to stabilize the league. As numbers at the squirt level increase the league will consider potential changes. We don't anticipate this occurring for another 3-4 years.

Please contact your association point of contact with additional questions. Thank you.